The Watt Club Council

The Watt Club Council acts on behalf of The Watt Club to help achieve its aims and objectives. It helps develop a programme of activities for alumni, and acts as a forum through which they can influence the University.


The Council has up to 20 members and meets three times a year. It also holds an Annual Meeting.

Current membership


Keith Wallace
19 January 2012 – 19 January 2016 (second term)
BEng Civil Engineering 1985


Norman Chipakupaku
6 March 2013  – 6 March 2016 (second term)
MSc Business Management, 2005

Immediate Past President

Gregor J. Colville
1 November 2009 – 19 January 2012
MEng Chemical Engineering with Energy Resource Engineering 1999

Vice-Chancellor & Principal (ex officio)

Prof. Steve Chapman 

Secretary of the University (ex officio)

Ann Marie Dalton

President of the Student Union (ex officio)

Becky O'Hagan
BSc Mathematics

Members of the Court elected by The Watt Club Members

Keith Wallace 1 August 2011 – 31 July 2014 (first term)
Dr Jock Clear 1 August 2012 – 31 July 2014 (first term)

Members representing overseas branches

Mohammed Alaa Al Moghayer (Dubai) 
Bassanio Tam (Hong Kong) 
Albert Teo (Malaysia)
Axel Klafstad (Norway)
El Lee (Singapore)

Members elected by The Watt Club (three)

To be confirmed

Co-opted members (up to five)

Mr Michael Ross
Professor Keith Cornwell

Honorary Secretary & Treasurer

Harry Loney

Watt Club members page

Would you recommend Heriot-Watt to new students?

© Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, Scotland, UK EH14 4AS, Tel: +44 (0) 131 449 5111
Scottish registered charity number: SC000278